## Nuclear Data Section International Atomic Energy Agency P.O.Box 100, A-1400 Vienna, Austria

## Memo CP-D/396

Date: 20 May 2004To: DistributionFrom: O. Schwerer

Subject: Non-differential thick target yields with units μCi/μAhr/MeV:

Proposed new quantity code for dictionary 36

The units  $\mu$ Ci/ $\mu$ Ahr/MeV were first proposed in memo CP-A/152, and because of the space limitations in the format, were introduced as

CI/AHR/MEV	Curie/Ampere-hour/MeV	<b>Dimension:</b>
	= muCi/(muAhr * MeV)	TTTE

They are, so far, used only in PRELIM.O017, entry 00847, subentries 2-4, with REACTION quantity ,IND,PY. In spite of the /MeV factor in the units, these data are not differential by energy, and no secondary energy is given. (So far, all our units including the factor "per energy" were for differential data of type d/dE). Memo CP-A/152 defines the quantity as "product yields in micro-curie from 1 MeV target thickness".

Actually, the dimension corresponds to dimension **TTT** (used for quantity **TTY,,DT**) except for the factor 1/MeV for the thickness. Therefore, to keep consistent, I propose to introduce a new quantity using TTY rather than PY in SF6 for

## **Dictionary 36:**

,TTY,,TM Production thick target yield (decay rate per unit of beam current \* time) for 1 MeV target thickness

Reaction type (dict.13): TT+ (Flag in dict.36, determines which independent variables

are required; here: no secondary energy)

Unit dimension (dict. 26): TTTE (Flag in dict. 36, links quantity to units in dict.25, here:

CI/AHR/MEV)

(Note that, in principle, these units might also be used in future for some type of thick target yields differential by a secondary particle energy. Such a quantity will have a different Reaction type but the same unit dimension.)

Since the definitions of thick target quantities were rewritten not so long ago by V. McLane and S. Takacs in memo CP-C/334, I request in particular their feedback, as well as the feedback of all others who regularly compile thick target yields.

## Distribution:

oblozinsky@bnl.gov vml@bnl.gov nordborg@nea.fr manokhin@ippe.obninsk.ru maev@ippe.obninsk.ru may@obninsk.ru Mmarina@ippe.obninsk.ru feliks@polyn.kiae.su chukreev@polyn.kiae.su S.Dunaeva@iaea.org taova@expd.vniief.ru varlamov@depni.sinp.msu.ru chiba@earth.sgu.ac.jp kato@nucl.sci.hokudai.ac.jp oba@nrdf.meme.hokudai.ac.jp yxzhuang@iris.ciae.ac.cn

gezg@iris.ciae.ac.cn hongwei@iris.ciae.ac.cn tarkanyi@atomki.hu stakacs@atomki.hu hasegawa@ndc.tokai.jaeri.go.jp vlasov@kinr.kiev.ua kaltchenko@kinr.kiev.ua ogritzay@kinr.kiev.ua jhchang@kaeri.re.kr ohtsuka@nucl.sci.hokudai.ac.jp m.wirtz@iaea.org m.lammer@iaea.org v.pronyaev@iaea.org schwerer@iaeand.iaea.org v.zerkin@iaea.org exfor@nea.fr